CARING FOR BODY AND MIND IN AFGHANISTAN


Kunar province in Afghanistan is one of the areas hardest hit by violence linked to the conflict in the country. Première Urgence Internationale is developing its psychological first aid activities in order to respond to the suffering of these populations.

In Kunar province, in the north-east of Afghanistan, weeks in which there is no major incident are rare. The conflict continues and is affecting populations who can suffer severe psychological distress and social and mental issues. To respond to this suffering, Première Urgence Internationale teams are working in health facilities with the aim of strengthening emergency psychological support as part of medical activities so as to avoid more serious trauma in the medium and long term. This project is part of the expansion of the organisation’s care activities for conflict victims, financed by the European Commission’s Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection department (ECHO) since May 2013. In this crisis situation, it is essential to bring together emergency medical care and psychological first aid. “I am happy to work to help the population, because in Afghanistan the number of people affected psychologically is very high. We deliver psychological first aid in order to limit trauma,” explains Malalai, a midwife who participates in health activities.

In 2015, Première Urgence Internationale has given practical training in psychological first aid to 70 members of staff in health facilities, including doctors, nurses, psycho-social consultants, trainers of community health workers, and midwives. This training allowed 240 people to receive psychological support in the Kunar province in September 2015 alone. For Ihsanullah, a psychosocial consultant, “this project is having a positive impact on our practice and it’s a good way to help people to improve their lives.” Wahab, who trains community health workers, explains: “I’ve learnt a lot during training. Before, I didn’t really know how to help a person suffering from trauma and I didn’t have a lot of information about psychological first aid. Now, I have all the knowledge I need.”

This project, implemented in Kunar province, is a pilot scheme that the Afghan Ministry of Health is aiming to reproduce in other provinces in the country.

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.5% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Soigner le corps et l’esprit en Afghanistan


La province de Kunar en Afghanistan est l’une des zones les plus touchées par les violences liées au conflit. Première Urgence Internationale développe des activités de premiers soins psychologiques afin de répondre aux souffrances que subissent les populations.

A Kunar, une province située dans le nord-est de l’Afghanistan, les semaines sans incident majeur sont rares. Le conflit perdure et affecte les populations qui peuvent se retrouver en profonde détresse psychologique et souffrir de graves troubles sociaux et mentaux. Pour répondre à ces souffrances, les équipes de Première Urgence Internationale interviennent dans les structures de santé. Leur objectif : renforcer l’accompagnement psychologique d’urgence dans le cadre d’activités médicales afin d’éviter des traumatismes plus profonds à moyen et long terme. Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une extension des activités de prise en charge d’urgence des victimes de conflit, financées par l’Office d’aide humanitaire de la Commission européenne (ECHO) depuis mai 2013. En effet, dans ce contexte de crise, il est essentiel d’associer soins médicaux d’urgence et aide psychologique d’urgence. « Je suis heureuse de travailler pour aider les populations car, en Afghanistan, le nombre de personnes affectées sur le plan psychologique est très important. Nous délivrons des soins psychologiques d’urgence pour limiter les traumatismes », explique Malalai, sage-femme qui participe aux activités de santé.

En 2015, Première Urgence Internationale a dispensé des formations pratiques de premiers secours psychologiques à 70 personnels de structures de santé. Des médecins, des infirmières, des conseillers psychosociaux, des formateurs de travailleurs de santé communautaire et des sages-femmes ont bénéficié de ce soutien durant l’année. Ces formations ont permis d’apporter un appui psychologique à 240 personnes durant le seul mois de septembre 2015 dans la province de Kunar. Pour Ihsanullah, un conseiller psychosocial, « ce projet a un impact positif dans notre façon d’exercer et c’est un bon moyen d’aider les gens à améliorer leur vie ». Wahab, formateur de travailleurs de santé communautaire, explique : « J’ai beaucoup appris pendant ces formations. Avant, je ne savais pas vraiment comment aider une personne victime de traumatismes et je n’avais pas beaucoup d’informations sur l’aide psychologique d’urgence. Désormais, j’ai toutes les clés en main ».

Ce projet, mis en oeuvre dans la province de Kunar, est une expérience pilote que le ministère de la Santé afghan vise à reproduire dans d’autres provinces du pays.

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,5% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivité accrue.
Faire un don