Venezuela

Humanitarian context

Since 2013, Venezuela has been experiencing a humanitarian crisis, caused by multiple factors: an economic crisis, constant inflation linked to episodes of hyperinflation (up to 3,000%), the global drop in oil prices and production, the consequences of foreign economic sanctions, cyclical natural disasters (mainly floods), political instability, as well as the presence of armed groups, especially in the border areas. This crisis has caused a mass exodus of more than 6 million people1, making those who remain even more vulnerable, such as women of childbearing age, children, and the elderly. The lack of fuel, coupled with mobility restrictions caused by the pandemic, has led to the closure of many businesses as well as a decrease in remittances. By 2021, an estimated 65% of the population will be living in multidimensional poverty, bringing the number of people with acute humanitarian needs to 4.5 million.

1 UNHCR (2022)

Key figures

2019
Year of mission
implementation
9
National staff
6
Expatriate staff
13134
Beneficiaries

Description of the mission

Première Urgence Internationale is currently present in two regions (Lara and Miranda states) and is preparing to open operations in Delta Amacuro state.

After several assessments conducted in the country since 2019, Première Urgence Internationale relies on a local partner (AVESSOC) to improve access to primary health care and psychosocial support. The missions conducted in partnership with AVESSOC aim to set up mobile clinics, equip and rehabilitate health centres, particularly by supplying them with medicines, and finally to train health workers, with the aim of facilitating access to health services for the most vulnerable communities.

Premiere Urgence Internationale in action

In response to the crisis, Première Urgence Internationale conducted several needs assessments in Colombia and Venezuela in 2019 and 2020. These needs assessment missions allowed us to define a regional intervention strategy, in coordination with international humanitarian actors, governmental and non-governmental local. Our teams have developed several projects to provide an integrated response to the humanitarian needs of these populations, in close collaboration with local partners.

In Venezuela, Première Urgence Internationale‘s intervention aims to facilitate access to primary health care, particularly sexual and reproductive health. In parallel with the activities to strengthen health establishments, the deployment of mobile teams makes it possible to respond to the vital needs of populations in areas that are more difficult to access. Finally, in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic, prevention activities are also implemented.

Since 2019, Première Urgence Internationale has been present in the areas of Lara and Miranda state with its local partner AVESSOC. Soon, Première Urgence Internationale will deploy its actions in the state of Delta Amacuro with the aim of providing the indigenous populations of the Orinoco River with health, nutrition, protection, and access to water, hygiene and sanitation (WASH) services.

Images from the humanitarian mission in Venezuela

Mission news

Our partners

ECHO
UNFPA
CDCS

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.2% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Venezuela

Contexte humanitaire

Depuis 2013, le Venezuela connaît une crise humanitaire, causée par de multiples facteurs : une crise économique, une inflation constante liée à des épisodes d’hyperinflation (jusqu’à 3 000 %), la chute mondiale du prix et de la production du pétrole, les conséquences de sanctions économiques étrangères, des catastrophes naturelles cycliques (principalement des inondations), l’instabilité politique ainsi que la présence de groupes armés, en particulier dans les zones frontalières. Cette crise a provoqué un exode massif de plus de 6 millions de personnes,1 rendant ceux qui restent plus vulnérables encore, comme les femmes en âge de procréer, les enfants et les personnes âgées. Le manque de carburant, couplé aux restrictions de mobilité causées par la pandémie, a entraîné la fermeture de nombreuses entreprises ainsi que la diminution des envois de fonds. En 2021, on estime que 65% de la population vit dans une situation de pauvreté multidimensionnelle, portant à 4,5 millions le nombre de personnes ayant des besoins humanitaires aigus.

1 UNCHR 2022

Chiffres clés

2019
Année d'implantation
de la mission
9
Personnel national
6
Personnel expatrié
13134
Bénéficiaires

Descriptif de la mission

Première Urgence Internationale est actuellement présente dans deux régions (États de Lara et de Miranda) et s’apprête à ouvrir des opérations dans l’État de Delta Amacuro.

Après plusieurs évaluations menées dans le pays depuis 2019, Première Urgence Internationale s’appuie sur un partenaire local (AVESSOC) pour améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé primaire et au soutien psychosocial. Les missions conduites en partenariat avec AVESSOC visent à mettre en place des cliniques mobiles, à équiper et réhabiliter les centres de santé, notamment en les approvisionnant en médicaments, et enfin à former les agents de santé, dans le but de faciliter l’accès aux services de santé pour les les communautés les plus vulnérables.

Première Urgence Internationale en action

En réponse à la crise, Première Urgence Internationale a réalisé plusieurs évaluations des besoins en Colombie et au Venezuela en 2019 et 2020. Ces missions d’évaluation des besoins nous ont permis de définir une stratégie d’intervention régionale, en coordination avec les acteurs humanitaires internationaux, gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux locaux. Nos équipes ont développé plusieurs projets pour apporter une réponse intégrée aux besoins humanitaires de ces populations, en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires locaux.

Au Venezuela, l’intervention de Première Urgence Internationale vise à faciliter l’accès aux soins primaires, et particulièrement à la santé sexuelle et reproductive. En parallèle des activités de renforcement des établissements de santé, le déploiement d’équipes mobiles permet de répondre aux besoins vitaux des populations dans des zones plus difficiles d’accès. Enfin, face à la pandémie de COVID-19, des activités de prévention sont également mises en place.

Depuis 2019, Première Urgence Internationale est présente dans les zones de l’État de Lara et de Miranda avec son partenaire local AVESSOC. Prochainement, Première Urgence Internationale va déployer ses actions dans l’État du Delta Amacuro dans le but d’apporter aux populations indigènes du fleuve Orénoque des services de santé, de nutrition, de protection, et d’accès à l’eau, l’hygiène et l’assainissement (SEPA).

Images de la mission humanitaire Venezuela

L'actualité de la mission

Nos partenaires

ECHO
UNFPA
CDCS

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,2% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivité accrue.
Faire un don