Senegal

Humanitarian context

Despite the progress made in the health field, notably thanks to the National Sanitary Developing Plan, many territories in Senegal still suffer from a lack of adapted and functioning facilities able to offer an access of quality to healthcare to all the population.

Without being a theater of an intense humanitarian crisis, the country faces immense challenges to ensure the satisfaction of essential needs for all, in an environment where the pressure on the resources increases as the demography grows and as the development of the country takes place. In this context, the support to the initiatives in favor of the access of quality healthcare in the most marginalized areas has to remain a constant concern.

Key figures

2012
Year of mission
implementation
18
National staff
0
Expatriate staff
22 500
Beneficiaries

Description of the mission

Première Urgence Internationale has had a presence in Senegal since 2012, when it started to support the Medical House of Wassadou , which is located 60 km away in the southeast of Tambacounda, an area far away from the economic heart of the country represented by Dakar. This support comes in the following of a demand uttered by the structure itself and Première Urgence Internationale, which already supported the Medical House beforehand because of the difficulties met at the beginning of 2010s, which threatened the existence of the structure. Implanted in a very isolated region, the Medical House of Wassadou covers a population of about 20,000 people but assured only 1,000 to 1,500 consultations per year.

At the time of the resumption in 2012, the essential stake in the mission was to restore as quickly as possible the feature of the structure, to ensure a sustainable sanitary and quality coverage of the populations. This objective was reached because the attendance increased all along these last years and widely exceeded the results reached in the best years.

Premiere Urgence Internationale in action

Apart from these operations of restoration of the technical tray, the strengthening of the care protocols and actions carried out in terms of awareness sessions and health-promoting, Première Urgence Internationale attempted to improve and to perpetuate the economic model of the structure. A considerable work was realized between 2012 and 2015 to optimize the functioning of the structure and to identify the economic opportunities to ensure its long-term autonomy. This ambition was realized thanks to the support of the Pierre Fabre which supported the structure and Première Urgence Internationale in this phase of transition.

In 2016, Première Urgence Internationale got a multiannual support on behalf of the American Foundation AFLK and will orient this support in a prospect of investment and empowerment of the Medical House of Wassadou. It is this new challenge that will have to be recovered during the next years and that will allow the structure to offer a complete offer of care to the populations of the region on the long term and in a long-lasting way.

Mission news

Our partners

AFLK (America friends of Le Korsa)

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.5% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Sénégal

Contexte humanitaire

Malgré les efforts consentis en matière de santé, notamment via le Plan National de Développement Sanitaire, nombre de territoires au Sénégal pâtissent encore du déficit de structures adaptées et fonctionnelles à même de permettre un accès à des soins de qualité à l’ensemble de la population.

Sans constituer un théâtre de crise humanitaire intense, le pays fait face à des défis immenses pour assurer la satisfaction des besoins essentiels de tous, dans un environnement où la pression sur les ressources s’accroît à mesure que la démographie croît et que le développement du pays s’opère. Dans ce contexte, l’accompagnement et le soutien aux initiatives favorisant l’accès à des soins de qualité dans les zones les plus marginalisées doit rester une préoccupation constante.

Chiffres clés

2012
Année d'implantation
de la mission
18
Personnel national
0
Personnel expatrié
22 500
Bénéficiaires

Descriptif de la mission

Première Urgence Internationale est présente au Sénégal depuis 2012, date à partir de laquelle elle a commencé à soutenir la Maison Médicale de Wassadou (MMW), située à 60km au sud-est de Tambacounda, soit une zone extrêmement éloignée du poumon économique du pays que constitue Dakar. Ce soutien fait suite à une demande émise par la structure elle-même et Première Urgence Internationale qui la soutenait préalablement, en raison des difficultés rencontrées au début des années 2010 qui menaçaient jusqu’à l’existence même de la structure. Implantée dans une région très isolée, la MMW couvre un bassin de population d’environ 20 000 personnes mais n’assurait plus que     1 000 à 1 500 consultations par an.

Ainsi, au moment de la reprise en 2012, l’enjeu primordial de la mission était de restaurer au plus vite la fonctionnalité de la structure, afin d’assurer une prise en charge sanitaire durable et de qualité des populations. Cet objectif a été atteint puisque la fréquentation a augmenté toutes ces dernières années, dépassant largement les résultats atteints dans les meilleures années de fonctionnement. Aujourd’hui, la structure réalise plus de 10 000 consultations par an.

Première Urgence Internationale en action

Au-delà de ces opérations de restauration du plateau technique, de renforcement des protocoles de soins et des actions menées en termes de sensibilisation et de promotion de la santé, Première Urgence Internationale s’est attachée à améliorer et pérenniser le modèle économique de la structure. Un travail considérable a été réalisé entre 2012 et 2015 en vue d’optimiser le fonctionnement de la structure et d’identifier les opportunités économiques à même d’assurer son autonomie à long terme.

Cette ambition a pu être réalisée grâce au soutien de la Fondation Pierre Fabre qui a accompagné la structure et Première Urgence Internationale dans cette phase de transition. En 2016, Première Urgence Internationale a obtenu un soutien pluriannuel de la part de la Fondation américaine AFLK qu’elle investira dans une perspective d’investissement et d’autonomisation de la MMW. C’est ce nouveau défi qui permettra à la structure d’offrir sur le long terme et de manière pérenne une offre de soins complète aux populations de la région.

 

La mission en images

L'actualité de la mission

Nos partenaires

AFLK (America friends of Le Korsa)

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,5% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivitée accrue.
Faire un don