Myanmar/Burma

Humanitarian context

Myanmar / Burma is one of the most disaster-prone countries in Asia where humanitarian needs are the result of a complex combination of vulnerabilities caused by exposure to extreme natural disasters, chronic poverty and inter-communal tensions that affect people in large parts of the country.

Since 2002, more than 13 million people have been affected by natural disasters, including cyclones, several major earthquakes, and severe flooding1.

About 241,000 displaced people remain in camps in Kachin, Kayin, Shan and Rakhine states as a consequence of armed conflicts, while almost one million people escaped to Bangladesh after intensified violence in 2017. In the 80’s hundreds of thousands of people was fleeing to Thailand during attacks opposing ethnic armed groups to military factions in Kayin state.

1 Humanitarian needs overview.

Key figures

1984
Year of mission
implementation
90
National staff
2
Expatriate staff
6 300
Beneficiaries

Description of the mission

Première Urgence Internationale (PUI) entered Myanmar/ Burma in 1984 as Aide Médicale Internationale (AMI), training medical teams on the border and managing health in Thai border camps. Première Urgence Internationale started a Yangon WASH (Water, Sanitation and Hygiene) in 2001, and implemented health programs with a focus on access to primary health care, emergency and Maternal Neonatal and Child Health (MNCH) in Yangon, Kayin, Tanitaryi, Rakhine, Kachin, Sagaing, Wa and Lashio.

In 2003, Première Urgence Internationale provided care for patients with sexually transmitted infections including HIV and AIDS prevention starting with 900 antiretroviral therapy (ART) patients under Global Fund until July 2018 reaching 6,300 patients.
In 2011, sexual and reproductive health was added in South Yangon.

Première Urgence International is starting a new program in Kayin to increase resilience of population affected by the conflict through an integrated approach which aims at improving the access to water and health facilities, and reinforcing livelihood of communities living in the area.

Premiere Urgence Internationale in action

Première Urgence Internationale is implementing HIV prevention program for male, female and LGBT sex workers funded by Global Fund in six townships. This includes: Education and Behavior Change Communication (BCC), condom distribution, testing and counseling, sexually transmitted infections treatment, community strengthening, outreach, referral, defaulter tracing, nutrition and community based psychosocial support.

Première Urgence Internationale is exploring adding Sexual and Gender-Based Violence (SGBV) and Sexual and Reproductive Health (SRH) to our current programming.

The Myanmar mission in pictures

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.5% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Myanmar (Birmanie)

Contexte humanitaire

Le Myanmar / la Birmanie est l’un des pays d’Asie les plus exposés aux catastrophes, où les besoins humanitaires résultent d’une combinaison complexe de vulnérabilités causées par l’exposition à des catastrophes naturelles extrêmes, une pauvreté chronique et des tensions intercommunautaires qui affectent la population dans de nombreuses régions du pays. .

Depuis 2002, plus de 13 millions de personnes ont été touchées par des catastrophes naturelles, notamment des cyclones, plusieurs séismes importants et de graves inondations1.

À la suite des conflits armés, environ 241 000 personnes déplacées sont encore dans des camps dans les États de Kachin, Kayin, Shan et Rakhine, tandis que près d’un million de personnes se sont réfugiées au Bangladesh après l’intensification de la violence en 2017. Dans les années 80, des centaines de milliers de personnes se sont réfugiées en Thaïlande pendant les attaques de groupes ethniques opposés à des factions militaires dans l’État de Kayin.

Chiffres clés

1984
Année d'implantation
de la mission
90
Personnel national
2
Personnel expatrié
6 300
Bénéficiaires

Descriptif de la mission

Première Urgence Internationale (PUI) est entrée au Myanmar / en Birmanie en 1984 sous le nom de Aide Médicale Internationale (AMI). L’ONG formait des équipes médicales à la frontière et gérait la santé dans des camps situés à la frontière thaïlandaise. Première Urgence Internationale a lancé un programme d’eau, assainissement et hygiène à Yangon en 2001. Puis a mis en œuvre des programmes de santé axés sur l’accès aux soins de santé primaires, les urgences et la santé maternelle néonatale et infantile à Yangon, Kayin, Tanitaryi, Rakhine, Kachin , Sagaing, Wa et Lashio.

En 2003, Première Urgence Internationale a fourni des soins à des patients atteints d’infections sexuellement transmissibles, et fait la prévention du VIH et du sida. Dans un premier temps auprès de 900 patients sous traitement antirétroviral relevant du Fonds mondial jusqu’en juillet 2018, pour atteindre finalement 6 300 patients.
En 2011, la santé sexuelle et reproductive a été ajoutée à Yangon Sud.

Première Urgence International lance un nouveau programme à Kayin pour accroître la résilience des populations touchées par le conflit grâce à une approche intégrée visant à améliorer l’accès à l’eau et aux installations de santé et à renforcer les moyens de subsistance des communautés vivant dans la région.

Première Urgence Internationale en action

Première Urgence Internationale met en œuvre un programme de prévention du VIH pour les travailleurs du sexe masculins, féminins et LGBT avec le financement du Fonds mondial dans six cantons. Cela inclut: la communication sur l’éducation et le changement de comportement, la distribution de préservatifs, le dépistage et le conseil, le traitement des infections sexuellement transmissibles, le renforcement de la communauté, la sensibilisation, l’orientation vers des soins adaptés, le dépistage des défaillants, la nutrition et un soutien psychosocial basé sur la communauté.

Première Urgence Internationale étudie la possibilité d’ajouter la violence sexuelle et sexiste et la santé sexuelle et reproductive à notre programmation actuelle.

La mission Birmanie en images

Nos partenaires

Save the Children
UNICEF

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,5% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivité accrue.
Faire un don