Burkina Faso

Humanitarian context

Burkina Faso, which had so far escaped the regional instability caused by the fall of the Libyan regime in 2011, has seen its context gradually deteriorate since the popular uprising in autumn 2014. Since 2016, radical groups have redirected their actions to Burkina Faso because they found in the Burkinabé Sahel region a breeding ground for development.

The growing insecurity in the country affects around 1.5 million people according to the last OCHA situation report of November 27, 2019. Thus, while in January 2018 there were around 9,000 displaced people in the country, in February 2020 they are close to 765,000 with projections of increase during the year 2020, in view of the change in the deterioration of the security situation.

According to the OCHA situation report of December 9, 2019, a total of 1.2 million people are affected in terms of health, 95 health centers are closed and 135 of its are operating at least across the country. In addition, the transfer of patients to more developed health centers is becoming increasingly difficult, due to the lack of ambulances.

Key figures

2020
Year of mission
implementation
28
National staff
4
Expatriate staff
82191
Beneficiaries

Description of the mission

Present since 2013 in Mali and since 2018 in Niger, Première Urgence Internationale  has witnessed the worrying development of the cross-border context between Mali, Niger, and Burkina Faso.

In the regions of Gao, Mopti and Kidal, Première Urgence Internationale teams are implementing an integrated approach allowing the health and nutritional care of the populations affected by the crisis. Since Niger has directly suffered the effects of the Malian crisis and the ongoing conflict on the border territory of the Tillabéri and Tahoua regions, Première Urgence Internationale has been running since 2018 a project of assistance to the populations in primary health care, in the district of Ouallam, province of Tillabéri. Burkina Faso has suffered the consequences of this Malian crisis, adding to the social problems already existing in the country. Première Urgence Internationale has therefore decided to expand its activities in the eastern region of Burkina Faso to help reduce the morbidity and mortality of populations affected by the crisis.

Première Urgence Internationale’s regional approach allows it to respond to the needs of vulnerable people affected by the Sahelian crisis from one side to the other of the borders.

Premiere Urgence Internationale in action

Première Urgence Internationale’s strategy is based on its ability to adapt to a highly unstable context by ensuring basic living conditions and reducing the mortality and morbidity of the most vulnerable populations; On the other hand, by supporting health structures, health authorities, communities and partners and improving the coverage of primary and secondary health care. The strengthening of the health system will be based on the analysis of the various pillars of this system in the targeted area: strengthening it to improve the capacity to respond to the security and humanitarian situation, to the probability of climatic and economic shocks, which could degrade and further destabilise the country. To reduce maternal and infant mortality and morbidity.

 

Mission news

Our partners

Fondation Sanofi Espoir
Centre de Crise et de Soutien

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.5% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Burkina Faso

Contexte humanitaire

Le Burkina Faso, qui avait échappé jusque-là à l’instabilité régionale causée par la chute du régime libyen en 2011, a vu son contexte se dégrader progressivement depuis l’insurrection populaire de l’automne 2014. Depuis 2016, les groupes radicaux ont réorienté leurs actions sur le Burkina Faso car ils y ont trouvé dans la région du Sahel burkinabé un terreau propice pour se développer.

L’insécurité grandissante dans le pays affecte environ 1,5 million de personnes selon le dernier rapport de situation d’OCHA du 27 novembre 2019. Ainsi, alors qu’en janvier 2018 on comptait  environ 9 000  personnes déplacées dans le pays, en février 2020 ils sont près de 765 000 avec des projections d’augmentation au cours de l’année 2020, au vu du changement de la dégradation de situation sécuritaire.

Selon le rapport de situation d’OCHA du 9 décembre 2019, au total, 1,2 millions de personnes sont affectés en termes de santé, 95 centres de santé sont fermés et 135 d’entre eux fonctionnent à minima dans tout le pays. Par ailleurs, le transfert de patients vers des centres de santé plus développés se fait de plus en plus difficilement, dû au manque d’ambulances.

Chiffres clés

2020
Année d'implantation
de la mission
28
Personnel national
4
Personnel expatrié
82191
Bénéficiaires

Descriptif de la mission

Présent depuis 2013 au Mali et depuis 2018 au Niger, Première Urgence Internationale a été témoin de l’inquiétante évolution du contexte transfrontalier entre le Mali, le Niger, et le Burkina-Faso.

Dans les régions de Gao, Mopti et Kidal, les équipes mettent en œuvre une approche intégrée permettant la prise en charge sanitaire et nutritionnelle des populations affectées par la crise. Le Niger ayant directement subit les effets de la crise malienne et du confit en cours sur le territoire frontalier des régions du Tillabéri et de Tahoua, Première Urgence Internationale mène depuis 2018 un projet d’assistance aux populations en soins de santé primaire, dans le district sanitaire de Ouallam, province de Tillabéri. Le Burkina Faso, a subi les conséquences de cette crise malienne, venant s’ajouter aux problématiques sociales déjà existantes dans le pays. Première Urgence Internationale a ainsi décidé d’étendre ses activités dans la région de l’Est du Burkina Faso pour contribuer à réduire la morbidité et la mortalité des populations affectées par la crise.

L’approche régionale de Première Urgence Internationale  lui permet de répondre aux besoins des personnes vulnérables affectées par la crise sahélienne d’un côté à l’autre des frontières.

Première Urgence Internationale en action

La stratégie de Première Urgence Internationale est basée sur sa capacité à s’adapter à un contexte fortement instable. D’une part, elle cherche à assurer les conditions de vie de base en réduisant la mortalité et la morbidité des populations les plus vulnérables. D’autre part, elle soutient les structures de santé, les autorités sanitaires, les communautés et les partenaires, en vue d’améliorer la couverture des soins de santé primaire et secondaire.  Le renforcement du système de santé (RSS) sera basé sur une analyse des différents piliers de celui-ci dans la zone ciblée : renforcement qui visera à améliorer la capacité de réponse la situation sécuritaire et humanitaire, à la probabilité des chocs climatiques et économiques, qui pourrait se dégrader et déstabiliser encore son fonctionnement.

L'actualité de la mission

Nos partenaires

Fondation Sanofi Espoir
Centre de Crise et de Soutien

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,5% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivité accrue.
Faire un don