Niger

Humanitarian context

Already heavily impacted by endemic poverty, Niger is directly suffering the consequences of several politico-military crises. On the one hand, the instability created by the Lake Chad crisis is leading to massive population displacements, putting the health situation and economic resilience of communities to the test. On the other hand, the crisis in the Sahel and the Malian conflict is characterised by the rise of several transnational armed groups whose acts of violence severely affect the populations. Finally, Niger is at the heart of the migration routes between Sub-Saharan and North Africa.

This instability is characterised by the scale of the population’s humanitarian needs. According to the Humanitarian Needs Survey 2020 published by the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, an estimated 2.9 million people are in need, 55% of whom are children. In addition, in order to reduce the risk of attacks by armed groups, a state of emergency has been declared by the government in the border regions of Mali, which complicates the population’s access to basic services and increases their vulnerability to epidemic risks (meningitis, measles, cholera) and malnutrition.

Key figures

2018
Year of mission
implementation
22
National staff
2
Expatriate staff
50 423
Beneficiaries

Description of the mission

In the past, Première Urgence Internationale has worked twice in Niger, once in the 1990s with projects in the Agadez region, and in the early 2010’s in the malnutrition sector in Niamey.

Faced with the evolution of the cross-border context between Mali and Niger at the end of 2017, the NGO opened a mission in Niger in 2018, in the framework of a cross-border mission covering the “3 borders” zone, bringing together the Première Urgence Internationale’s operations in Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso.

In Niger, Première Urgence Internationale implements its activities in the Tillabéri region, an area where violence is intensifying and where there is a high level of internal displacement. These constraints contribute to a decrease in access to health services, and in the short term this translates into a resurgence of certain communicable diseases such as measles, diarrhoeal diseases and pneumonia, particularly affecting children.

Thus, the NGO focuses on responding to the immediate needs of the population, improving access to health care and nutrition, and strengthening existing health structures.

Premiere Urgence Internationale in action

Première Urgence Internationale implements its activities in the health districts of Ouallam and Torodi through strategies discussed and agreed with the health authorities. Thus, Première Urgence Internationale deploys mobile clinics composed of experienced staff, whose objective is to provide primary and mental health care to vulnerable people.

In addition, the NGO provides support to health centres in several health areas, through capacity building of health workers, support in medicines and medical equipment, as well as rehabilitation of infrastructure to ensure a suitable health environment for patients.

The Niger mission in pictures

 

Our partners

Fondation Sanofi Espoir
ECHO
USAID
Centre de Crise et de Soutien

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.2% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Niger

Contexte humanitaire

Déjà fortement impacté par une pauvreté endémique le Niger subit directement les conséquences de plusieurs crises politico-militaires. D’une part, l’instabilité crée par la crise du Lac Tchad conduit à des déplacements de populations massifs, mettant à l’épreuve la situation sanitaire et la résilience économique des communautés. D’autre part, la crise du Sahel et le conflit malien, se caractérise par l’essor de plusieurs groupes armés transnationaux dont les actes de violences affectent durement les populations. Enfin, le Niger est au cœur des routes migratoires entre Afrique Subsaharienne et Afrique du Nord.

Cette instabilité se caractérise par l’importance des besoins humanitaires de la population. Selon l’aperçu des besoins humanitaires 2020 publié par le Bureau de la Coordination Humanitaire, on estime à 2.9 million les personnes dans le besoin dont 55% d’enfants. En outre, dans le but d’atténuer les risques d’attaques de groupes armés, l’Etat d’urgence a été déclaré par le gouvernement dans les régions frontalières du Mali, ce qui complique l’accès de la population aux services de base et renforce sa vulnérabilité face aux risques épidémiques (méningite, rougeole, choléra) et à la malnutrition.

Chiffres clés

2018
Année d'implantation
de la mission
22
Personnel national
2
Personnel expatrié
50 423
Bénéficiaires

Descriptif de la mission

Par le passé, Première Urgence Internationale a travaillé à 2 reprises au Niger, une première fois dans les années 90 avec des projets dans la région d’Agadez, et au début des années 2010 dans le secteur de la malnutrition à Niamey.

Face à l’évolution du contexte transfrontalier entre le Mali et le Niger fin 2017, l’ONG ouvre une mission au Niger en 2018, dans le cadre d’une mission transfrontalière couvrant la zone des « 3 frontières » regroupant les opérations de PUI au Mali, Niger et Burkina Faso.

Au Niger, Première Urgence Internationale met en œuvre ses activités dans la région de Tillabéri, zone connaissant une intensification des violences et de nombreux déplacements internes. Ces contraintes contribuent à la diminution de l’accès aux services de santé, et à court  terme cela se traduit par une résurgence de certaines maladies transmissibles telles que la rougeole, les maladies diarrhéiques et les pneumonies, touchant particulièrement les enfants.

Ainsi, l’ONG se concentre sur la réponse aux besoins immédiats des populations, l’amélioration de l’accès aux soins de santé et nutrition, et le renforcement des structures de santé existantes.

Première Urgence Internationale en action

Première Urgence Internationale met en œuvre ses activités dans les districts sanitaires de Ouallam et Torodi,  grâce à des stratégies discutées et convenues avec les autorités sanitaires. Ainsi, Première Urgence Internationale déploie des cliniques mobiles composées de personnels expérimentés, dont l’objectif est d’apporter des soins de santé primaires aux personnes vulnérables.

De plus, l’ONG fournit un appui aux centres de santé dans plusieurs aires sanitaires, via un renforcement des capacités des agents de santé, un appui en médicaments et équipements médicaux, ainsi que des réhabilitations d’infrastructures pour garantir un environnement sanitaire convenable aux patients.

La mission Niger en images

 

Nos partenaires

Fondation Sanofi Espoir
ECHO
USAID
Centre de Crise et de Soutien

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,2% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivité accrue.
Faire un don