Première Urgence Internationale launches a project in Burundi


After more than three years of assessments and exploratory missions in the country, Première Urgence Internationale has just started a first operational project in Burundi, in the Ngozi hospital. This first intervention is reflected in training of hospital staff: a promising base, which can lay the groundwork for the future.

project in Burundi

Burundi and its 11 million inhabitants, is one of the poorest countrie in the world. It was ranked 185th in terms of human development in 2018, according to the United Nations.

Indeed, its inhabitants are facing a serious humanitarian crisis. They are facing economic recession, epidemic of malaria, and extreme food insecurity at the same time. About 2 million people, or nearly 1 in 5 people, are considered at risk of food insecurity.

In addition, the political situation remains extremely unstable. The arrival of the presidential elections, scheduled for May 2020, raises fears of an outbreak of violence. Awakening age-old fears of civil war, these elections put Burundi back on the front of the humanitarian scene.

In support of a local hospital

Since 2016, Première Urgence Internationale has carried out various exploratory missions and needs assessment phases.  We aimed to obtain necesarry funding to intervene in the country.

Thus, in July 2019, the teams of the NGO were able to start a first operational project in the country. In partnership with a local NGO, this project supports Ngozi hospital staff in the north of the country, through:

  • supply of equipment
  • and training for staff

Première Urgence Internationale is also evaluating the needs of three other hospitals in the district, through a health data collection activity on maternal and child health.

To support our actions, you can make a donation. You are the guarantee of our freedom of action and allow us to increase our reactivity and independence.

How your donations are used?

Stats Each year, Première Urgence Internationale allocates most of its resources to the programs and activities and only 0.5% to fundraising. Your donations are crucial.

Take control of your destiny

Your donations ensure our freedom of action. They allow us to provide support to those affected by crises that have been forgotten by the media and institutional sponsors. It means that the decisions of how to use all of the donations collected are taken by the organisation. It gives us the freedom to act and to increase our responsiveness.
Make a donation

Première Urgence Internationale lance un projet au Burundi


Après plus de trois ans d’évaluations et missions exploratoires dans le pays, Première Urgence Internationale vient de démarrer un premier projet opérationnel au Burundi, dans l’hôpital de Ngozi. Cette première intervention se traduit par des formations du personnel hospitalier : une base prometteuse, qui permet de poser des jalons pour la suite.

projet au Burundi

Le Burundi, 11 millions d’habitants, est parmi les pays les plus pauvres du monde. Il était classé 185e en termes de développement humain en 2018, selon les Nations Unies.

En effet, ses habitants se confrontent à une grave crise humanitaire, cumulant récession économique, épidémie de paludisme, et insécurité alimentaire extrême. Environ 2 millions de personnes, soit près d’1 habitant sur 5, sont considérées comme à risque d’insécurité alimentaire.

Par ailleurs, la situation politique demeure extrêmement instable. L’approche des élections présidentielles, prévues en mai 2020, laisse craindre une flambée des violences. Réveillant les fantômes de la guerre civile, ces élections remettent le Burundi sur le devant de la scène humanitaire.

En soutien à un hôpital local

Depuis 2016, Première Urgence Internationale a mené diverses missions exploratoires et phases d’évaluation des besoins, dans l’objectif d’obtenir des financements pour intervenir dans le pays.

Ainsi, en juillet 2019, les équipes de l’ONG ont pu démarrer un premier projet opérationnel dans le pays. En partenariat avec une ONG locale, ce projet permet de soutenir le personnel de l’hôpital de Ngozi, dans le nord du pays, via :

  • la fourniture d’équipements
  • et l’organisation de formations pour le personnel.

Première Urgence Internationale évalue également les besoins de trois autres hôpitaux du district, via une activité de collecte de données sanitaires sur la santé materno-infantile.

 

Pour soutenir nos actions, vous pouvez faire un don. Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action et nous permettre d’accroître notre réactivité et notre indépendance.

Comment sont utilisés vos dons ?

StatsChaque année, Première Urgence Internationale affecte l’essentiel de ses ressources aux programmes qu’elle déploie sur ses différents terrains d’intervention et seulement 0,5% à la recherche de fonds. Vos dons sont essentiels.

Reprendre en main son destin !

Vos dons sont les garants de notre liberté d’action. Ils nous permettent de venir en aide aux populations affectées par des crises oubliées qui ne retiennent l’attention ni des médias, ni des bailleurs de fonds institutionnels. Les sommes collectées constituent ainsi les fonds propres de l’association, lui donnant une autonomie d’action et une réactivité accrue.
Faire un don